Rhodes Announces its 32 Winners(December 2004)

Rhodes Announces its 32 Winners
By David Kute
The Epoch Times Dec 02, 2004

The Rhodes Trust announced the 32 American winners of its annual scholarship last week.

Recipients, who will all have completed their undergraduate studies by the end of the current academic year, will go on to study for two or three years at England’s Oxford University. Recipients of the prestigious scholarship are awarded an average of $35,000 a year.

According to the scholarship’s website, applicants are chosen based on their demonstration of “high academic achievement, integrity of character, a spirit of unselfishness, respect for others, potential for leadership, and physical vigor.”

Each year, a total of 95 Rhodes Scholars are selected from nineteen jurisdictional regions worldwide.

This year, 904 American college students applied for the scholarship, receiving endorsements from 341 U.S. colleges and universities.

The scholarship was made possible thanks to a will left behind by Cecil Rhodes, a nineteenth century British philanthropist. The Rhodes was the first international studies award available to Americans.

The Rhodes Scholars, such as Daniel Clemens of Redlands, California, demonstrate outstanding achievements. Clemens is a Yale senior who will receive both a B.A. and an M.A. in political science. He has written a book on the history of the health supplement industry, and has won awards for his work in political science. He has also served as an election analyst for NBC News, is a nationally ranked tennis player for the Yale varsity team, and founded a preventive health care program for children.

Yale, Harvard, and Stanford seniors have often won the award. In contrast University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire was represented for the first time this year when Chauncy Harris was named a recipient.

3,046 Americans have now won the Rhodes scholarship, representing 307 colleges and universities. Among the recipients are former president Bill Clinton, NBA Hall of Famer Bill Bradley, Supreme Court Justices David Souter and Byron White, and General Wesley Clark.